A & E: Accident and Emergency

AMPH: Approved Mental Health Professional

CHC: Continuing Healthcare

CPA: Care Programme Approach

CQC: Care Quality Commission

DBS: Disclosure and Barring Service

DHSC: Department of Health and Social Care

DoLS: Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards

DWP: Department of Work and Pensions

EDT: Emergency Duty Team

EPA: Enduring Power of Attorney

FNC: Funded Nursing Care

GP: General Practitioner

HIV: Human Immuno-deficiency Virus

HSWT: Hospital Social Work Team

ICB: Integrated Care Board

ICS: Integrated Care System

IMCA: Independent Mental Capacity Advocate

IMHA: Independent Mental Health Advocate

LD: Learning disability

LBGT: Lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people

LBGTQiA+:  Lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer or questioning, intersex, asexual, and more

LGSCO: Local Government and Social Care Ombudsman

LPA: Lasting Power of Attorney

LPS: Liberty Protection Safeguards

MDT: Multi-disciplinary team

NFA: No further action

NK: Next of kin

OT: Occupational therapist

OTA: Occupational therapy assistant

PA: Personal Assistant

PIP: Personal Independence Payment

PoA: Power of Attorney

RAS: Resource Allocation System

SAB: Safeguarding Adults Board

SAP: Safeguarding Adults Partnership